Finding Stillness home‑working video competition

There’s lots being written at the moment about how to avoid ennui at home, especially in connection with remote working; the suggestions being made mostly revolve around increasing stimulation. We’d like to also suggest the opposite: the embracing of stillness, the acceptance of moments when there’s nothing happening, as a way of boosting productivity and creativity.

With the home-working video competition, we’re inviting people to send us their recordings of stillness. Send us a well-considered video that depicts almost nothing but contains almost everything, together with an accompanying text, and you could win one of three Punkt. Home Office Packs, with three UC01 USB Desktop Chargers* for the runners-up; ALL submissions will earn a 5% discount voucher for the Punkt. e-shop. Selected videos will be published on our website, Instagram and Twitter accounts.

To get the ball rolling, we’ve commissioned six home-working videos where each film-maker presents the view from his/her home – with pretty much nothing going on. Watching them (turn the sound up loud) is a little like looking at one of those pictures containing hidden images that one can only see when one stops looking…

But of course, the idea isn’t to spend one’s days looking at pixels. Even if COVID‑19 is vanquished, working from home is going to continue to be much more common than it was before. Hopefully this project can help develop a source of inspiration that can be useful in making remote working work.


Finding Stillness home-working video competition – How to take part:

Videos can be made with a dedicated camera or with a camera phone. Sound needs to be ambient audio only (e.g. a dog barking, leaves rustling, birds singing, an ambulance siren, music from someone else’s balcony, footsteps, etc.). Files need to be .mp4 or .mov format, 1920 x 1080 px, landscape, and around three minutes long. Natural light is likely to be more effective, but the choice is yours. Think carefully about composition, colours, etc. Create a masterpiece!

The accompanying text can be up to 500 characters in length (incl. spaces).
Last date for entries: June 1, 2020.

Find out more about the Punkt. Home Office Pack here.

*For regulatory reasons, the ES01 and UC01 are not available in the USA. Alternative prizes: an AC01 Sleep Pack or an AC01 Alarm Clock.

Further reading:
Wikipedia: "Boredom"
The BBC: "Psychology: Why boredom is bad... and good for you"
Bored and Brilliant, by Manoush Zomorodi

History from my window with Punkt.

History from my window

Jonathan Margolis, Financial Times journalist

Charles Dickens used to stay in the building and may have started Nicholas Nickleby right where I’m sitting.
Beautiful imperfections with Punkt.

Beautiful imperfections

Alessandro Albert, portrait photographer

At certain times of day the sunlight shines on the worn and paint peeled walls revealing their imperfections.
Urban soil

Urban soil

John Tree, industrial designer

I planted a few things but maintain it by selectively removing stuff I don't like.
Working from the garden shed

Working from the garden shed

Sam Walton, creative director

I returned to work from my garden shed for lockdown; it was the place I started Hole & Corner in 2013.
Birds and things

Birds and things

Marcia Caines, head of communications at Punkt.

I like to look out. Just looking up and out beyond the screen broadens my vision and soothes my eyes.
The tree of life

The tree of life

Philip Syse, tech support at Punkt.

Before lockdown I barely noticed the huge tree outside my window. I now drink coffee and watch the life that rotates within and around it during work breaks.
Sign up to the Punkt. Post

Homeoffice-Videowettbewerb „Stille finden“

Momentan wird viel darüber geschrieben, wie sich Überdruss und Langeweile zu Hause vermeiden lassen, vor allem im Zusammenhang mit dem Homeoffice. Die Vorschläge, die dazu gemacht werden, drehen sich meist um eine Steigerung der Stimulation. Wir möchten gerade auch das Gegenteil vorschlagen: die Umarmung der Stille als eine Möglichkeit, um Produktivität und Kreativität zu fördern, das Annehmen von Momenten, in denen nichts passiert.

Aus diesem Grunde laden wir Sie dazu ein, uns Ihre Aufnahmen der Stille einzusenden. Schicken Sie uns ein wohlüberlegtes Video, das praktisch nichts zeigt, aber alles sagt, zusammen mit einem Begleittext. Die besten drei Einsendungen gewinnen ein Homeoffice-Paket, die drei Nächstplatzierten ein UC01 USB-Desktop-Ladegerät* von Punkt. und ALLE Einsender erhalten einen 5% Rabattgutschein für unseren Onlineshop. Ausgewählte Videos werden auf unserer Website, Instagram und Twitter veröffentlicht.

Um den Ball ins Rollen zu bringen, haben wir sechs Videos in Auftrag gegeben, in denen die Filmemacher Aussichten aus ihrem Zuhause zeigen, auf denen so gut wie nichts passiert. Wenn man sich diese Filme anschaut (stellen Sie den Ton laut), dann ist das ein wenig so, als würde man eines dieser Bilder mit versteckten Motiven betrachten, die man nur sehen kann, wenn man aufhört hinzusehen...

Natürlich geht es hier nicht darum, den ganzen Tag Pixel zu betrachten. Homeoffice wird in Zukunft eine größere Rolle spielen als bisher − auch dann, wenn COVID 19 besiegt ist. Wir hoffen, dass dieses Projekt dazu beitragen kann, eine Inspirationsquelle zu erschließen, so dass das Arbeiten von zu Hause aus besser gelingt.


Wie kann ich teilnehmen?

Die Videos können entweder mit der Videokamera oder mit dem Handy aufgenommen werden. Für den Ton sind ausschließlich Umgebungsgeräusche zulässig (z. B. Hund bellt, Blätter rascheln, Vogelgesang, eine Krankenwagensirene, Musik vom Balkon einer anderen Person, Schritte usw.). Die Dateien müssen im .mp4- oder .mov-Format, 1920 x 1080 px, im Querformat und etwa drei Minuten lang sein. Natürliches Licht ist wahrscheinlich wirksamer, aber Sie haben die Wahl. Machen Sie sich Gedanken über die Komposition, Farben usw.. Schaffen Sie ein Meisterwerk!

Der Begleittext kann bis zu 500 Zeichen lang sein (inkl. Leerzeichen).
Letztes Datum für die Teilnahme: 1. Juni 2020.

Mehr über die Homeoffice-Pakete von Punkt. erfahren Sie hier.

*ES01 und UC01 sind aufgrund von regulatorischen Bestimmungen in den USA nicht erhältlich. Alternativpreise: AC01 mal zwei oder ein AC01-Wecker.

Weiterführende Lektüre:
Wikipedia: "Boredom"
The BBC: "Psychology: Why boredom is bad... and good for you"
Bored and Brilliant, by Manoush Zomorodi

Geschichte vor meinem Fenster mit Punkt.

Geschichte vor meinem Fenster

Jonathan Margolis, Financial Times journalist

Charles Dickens hat hier gewohnt und vielleicht genau hier, wo ich jetzt sitze, angefangen, Nicholas Nickleby zu schreiben.
Schöne Unvollkommenheiten mit Punkt.

Schöne Unvollkommenheiten

Alessandro Albert, portrait photographer

At certain times of day the sunlight shines on the worn and paint peeled walls revealing their imperfections.
Urbane Erde mit Punkt.

Urbane Erde

John Tree, industrial designer

Ich habe ein paar Sachen gepflanzt, aber ich pflege sie dadurch, dass ich selektiv Dinge entferne, die ich nicht mag.
Homeoffice im Gartenhaus mit Punkt.

Homeoffice im Gartenhaus

Sam Walton, creative director

Seit dem Lockdown arbeite ich wieder in meinem Gartenhaus, von wo aus ich schon 2013 mit Hole & Corner angefangen hatte.
Vögel und anderes mit Punkt.

Vögel und anderes

Marcia Caines, head of communications at Punkt.

Schon das Aufschauen über den Bildschirm hinaus erweitert mir die Sicht und ist Balsam für meine Augen.
Der Baum des Lebens mit Punkt.

Der Baum des Lebens

Philip Syse, tech support at Punkt.

Before lockdown I barely noticed the huge tree outside my window. I now drink coffee and watch the life that rotates within and around it during work breaks.
Abonnieren Sie die Punkt. Post